river-dance
River Dance, (c) 2017 Paul Grecian

March 1st, sure, but it’s still winter and I’m still thinking cold thoughts. So, I’m working on ice images again. This image was made along the shore of the Susquehanna River, as was the previous image I blogged about. For this piece, I composed for the sensual lines and their repetitive formation. The making of the image required that I work as parallel to the ice as possible in order to maximize the depth of field right through to the corners; that’s especially tough when working hand-held with the camera and lens. I exposed to compensate for the whiteness of the ice, and then developed the image to bring in higher contrast to the final rendering. Using a Nikon D810 camera with a Nikon AF 28-105mm f3.5-4.5D  lens from long ago, I was able to create the image in camera with only minor cropping during development.

This image is about rhythm and time, and in an odd way maybe, also movement. It conveys a sense of time standing still, literally frozen, but beautifully so. My initial printing of this image is as a 9.75 x 13.75 giclee matted to 16×20. It may be purchased from my website here

 

3 thoughts on “It’s Still Winter, so………..Ice.

  1. At first glance, before I absorbed the title, I thought it was a folded lace curtain. That in itself is my statement of how good the image is. & oh yea, not maybe, IMHO this image is definitely about movement. My eye goes through this like the water underneath.

Leave a Reply

