Northern Cardinals continue to be a favorite subject of mine. Over the years, I have grown to appreciate not just their physical beauty, but also the emotional significance they hold for many people who have lost loved ones. I have become especially conscious of situations where the male and female cardinal are together. The relationship between these two birds is both visually striking and a metaphor for caring couples.

Most of my cardinal work is done during the winter when trees are bare and visual access to the birds seems greatest. This image was made this winter during one of the above frigid days when I could work effectively for several hours. I composed to use the lines of the tree, the two bird’s similar posture and a panoramic cropping for maximum impact. I also like that the female is out front and has the darker color of the male as a contrasting background.

I used a Nikon D800 camera with a Nikkor AFS 200-400mm f4.0G  lens with a Nikkor TC20E III at an ISO 2000 and f11. The image is now available as a print in the size of 7×14″ matted to 16×20″ for $84.00 and framed for $189.00 with UV-protective, Reflection-control glass. I will have print #1 with me at the North Penn Select Craft Show on March 21.

(c) 2015 Paul Grecian - Photography
(c) 2015 Paul Grecian – Photography
4 thoughts on “Together

Leave a Reply

