Maine weather seems very unpredictable. Forecasts call for clear nights but fog is a threat and clouds seem to roll in without warning. So, I only had one decent night of clear skies in which to enjoy the Milky Way. But, I also had a brief period of moon light with which to work. This particular evening I decided I better arrive early before the sky was fully dark and work while I could. The moon reflected enough light to cause shadows to be cast, light up the sky a bit, and place lovely reflections on the waters of Eagle Lake.

Composing was still like, well, working in the dark. But I adjusted after a quick image review and proceeded until clouds ended my session. This image was made with a Nikon D800 and Nikkor 16-35mm f4.0 lens wide open for 2.5 seconds at ISO 2000. A tripod was used of course, as was an electronic cable release. In the print, stars will be seen, while in this smaller screen image they are more obscure. 

(c) 2014 Paul Grecian
(c) 2014 Paul Grecian

************************************************************************************************

2 thoughts on “Moon Light Reflections

  1. Paul, I absolutely love the beach and moon image I purchased from you, a few years ago. This one is another one of those – more than a landscape, more than a sky – a real capital “M” moment. Stunning.

Leave a Reply

