I’ve occasionally been printing in a more panoramic format of 7×14 inches in the last year. Certain images I’ve made with this 2:1 proportion represent the feeling of the experience more closely than my typical 3:2 ratio. This image made during my last clear night in Acadia National Park is an example of one I feel is best suited to the 2:1 ratio.

I’ve always enjoyed a deep black in my prints, especially when they involved a silhouette. The star filled sky allows for the clear outline of the various trees to be seen, something that is critical for a silhouette image. I’ve also composed to include a slight dip in the line of trees to keep the “horizon” from being boringly straight. I especially enjoy that many stars can be seen through the rather empty tree canopy where leaves are absent.

For this image I used a Nikon D800 with Nikkor 16-35mm f4 ED lens. I exposed the image for approx. 30 seconds, wide open at an ISO of 3200.

(c) 2013 Paul Grecian
(c) 2013 Paul Grecian

 

***************************************************************

One thought on “One more night…………….

  1. As usual, Paul, you’ve composed and captured a beautiful and evocative image. It is always such a delight to read your technical and thought process, as respects your images. It makes me better able to appreciate the fine art of fine art photography.

Leave a Reply

