When I woke up the other day and saw the frost on car windshields, I was mesmerized by the soft, feathery patterns that had formed. I scoped out our two clunkers and my new van to see which vehicle offered me the best light and perspective opportunity. I selected the van. So I climbed in, closed the door and went to work (without leaving the driveway!). The windshield from the inside slopes strongly so I knew I wouldn’t be able to get a DSLR and lens to fit. I opted to go for my Canon G11 which is small, has a macro mode, and articulated screen (there’s no way I’d be able to position myself to see through a viewfinder).

I was working close and at an angle, so I closed down the aperture to f/8 and positioned the camera screen where the pattern and light intrigued me most. It was still a challenge though as I had to hold the camera in such a way that made my fingers activate controls I didn’t want. Still, as the sun reflected off the window of the house across the street, I was able to work in both warm and cool tones.

Frost on Windshield
Frost on Windshield

******************************************************************

One thought on “A Frosty Cold One!

  1. Ah the challenges we face. I congratulate you for thinking prior to shooting & selecting the best car. I might not have gotten out of the first car once I started shooting. If you try it without an articulated screen, viewing at an oblique angle is an interesting exercise. Or “pre-visualizing” & aiming as best one can sometimes leads to unexpected/better results than anticipated.

Leave a Reply

