Today I experienced my first minor little tremor of an earthquake. It was interesting if not a bit disconcerting. It got me thinking about geology, which got me thinking about rock, which sent my mind back to Maine where I spent a week this past June. The geology at Acadia National Park is laid out for everyone to see and also offers some unique geometry with which to explore visual relationships, line, shape, and contrasts.

One of the images I made in Acadia is all about shape, texture, and contrasts. It’s an image of a single, perfectly formed, oblong rock against a weathered piece of driftwood (actually it was large 15 foot span of beached tree). Since the day was overcast, I had no shadows to deal with and so there is a softness to the light resulting in soft edges and transitions. A slight blue cast is present in the wood which adds the needed color contrast. The roundness of the rock and it’s speckled pattern also contrast with the crack lines of the wood. Somehow I find the image to be peaceful and a bit mesmerizing. I’d love to hear what you think.

Rock and weathered wood

***************************************************************

6 thoughts on “Thinking about geology today

  1. Paul, the blue tint of the wood ties so well with the blue freckles in the stone and the rosy tan background matches the upper part of the tree; it really is a perfect expression of texture and shape. That perfect color harmony of the washed out blue and muted orange shared between the stone and the wood are, I agree, mesmerizing.

  2. I see we think alike Paul. I did some shots similar to this a few weeks ago while in California. I found the weathered wood that was changing with age to be an interesting contrast to solid stone. Nice! I like it.

  3. Well, I am very pleased with this response! I also appreciate that you three represent work in a variety of mediums.

    Mark, anytime I share a common thought with you is fine with me!

  4. I agree with the comments above and additionally there is a theme of age and weathering here that ties it together, as well as the color palette. I feel your arrangement of the elements also adds to the interest.

    1. Thank you David for your thoughtful remarks. Your comment about age is well taken. Photography is often associated with the “stopping” of time. The weathering of the rock and wood here speak to a passage of time which I do find both interesting and even emotional

Leave a Reply

