People who are familiar with my work know that I travel little and only on the East Coast. It’s partially a result of choice and partially just the way life has directed me. I like the East Coast and have always felt it a good fit for me artistically. I’d rather work in familiar environments. My range has been from Maine to North Carolina, with Pennsylvania of course being my primary haunt as it is where I live. Maine actually has been a location I had visited once before but only as a tag along with my wife when she was on business.

Last week, Maine became a more purposeful location for me to work. I needed some serious time in the field and the family needed a new vacation destination. Acadia National Park became the solution. Just having returned from a week in Bar Harbor (or “Baa-Ha-Ba, as they say up north), I’ve been downloading RAW image files and developing a few new images for July shows.

The image below was made on Cadillac Mountain during sunset. The view is looking down on Bar Harbor and the Porcupine Islands in Frenchman Bay. One of the great things about Acadia is that the roads are open 24/7 and so I could go whenever I wanted (and I pretty much did just that). The image was made with a Canon EOS 5D Mark II with a Canon 17-40mm f4.0 L lens, polarizing filter and split-neutral density filter (on a tripod of course).

*************************************************************

 

10 thoughts on “The Maine Event

  1. I KNEW you’d love it…. and that image is lovely! It was cloudy and foggy the day we went up there. Can’t wait to see the other shots you got!!

  2. Respect for your core – not forcing yourself to travel, just following your inner compass – is surely one of the traits that imbues your images with such depth and emotion. I respect you, Paul.

    1. Hi Donna, thanks for the visit! We did all have a great time. I was very comfortable there so it must have been a good fit. You’ll have to tell me about your adventure some time.

      Paul

Leave a Reply

