It is certainly a powerful word – “Reverence”. Honor, respect, adoration, they all in part describe what we mean when we speak of  “reverence”. It is reverence for nature that has driven me to spend as much times outdoors as I can, to support conservation causes, and to make photography my expressive medium of choice.

“Country” is of course one of the things many think of when speaking of reverence. The idea of country can be abstract, and so symbols of country that are more concrete are often revered as well. The American Bald Eagle is one such symbol.  Our national bird symbolizes strength and freedom, but also wilderness. It’s a beautiful creature, majestic really, and wonderful to see with its wings outstretched.

Wonderfully, the American Bald Eagle has been making a comeback to this area of the country. Over the last several years I have been able to observe the eagle and create imagery of it right here in Bucks County, PA.

This image was made last spring just as budding was beginning to occur. During an early morning field session, I spotted this magnificent bird from a distance and began to work my way to a position where I could work with it in the warm glow of sunrise. The tree upon which it was sitting is one I have photographed before. It’s an amazing tree with long stretched out limbs that appear to almost bow toward the perched national symbol. The eagle in return, to my mind, seemed to be returning the honor. Without the wings outstretched, I do not believe the image has near the impact.

I used the lines of the tree to visually draw the viewer to the eagle which, though small in the frame, still dominates the image. Placing the bird at a compositional power point gives it visual strength but also lets the sweeping lines of the tree play a more important role. I used a Canon EOS 1D Mark III camera body with a Canon EF500mm F4.0 L IS lens coupled with a Canon TC1.4X teleconverter.

"Reverence" 9.75"x13.75"

****************************************************************

7 thoughts on “Reverence

  1. Good post Paul. Reverence… It is an interesting word to think about, one I don’t use often. I suppose it accurately describes my recent reunion with the sea.

  2. Wonderful photo. The post makes me think about how Eagles are low on my list of favored birds. Maybe because so many have them high. Give me a Red-Bellied Woodpecker any day of the week.

  3. Write more, thats all I have to say. Literally, it seems as though you relied on the video to make your point.
    You obviously know what youre talking about, why waste your intelligence on just posting
    videos to your weblog when you could be giving us something enlightening to read?

Leave a Reply

