As Bob Dylan would say, the answer my friend is blowing in the wind…Yea it was a tough one. I knew the forecast called for wind gusts in the upper 40 mph range, but the winds were magnified by the wind-tunnel that is Main Street in Bethlehem. This show has a reputation for these kind of winds but this weekend was different, a new scale of wind strength. It’s unfortunate because this is a fine show and deserves better treatment from the elements.

Around 1pm on Saturday I knew I was losing the battle and decided to pack it in. Not a decision I like to make. I wasn’t alone though, several others also had enough of the buffeting winds. I got my frames and matted work safely put away and began disassembling the display walls and then the canopy. I have a good canopy, steel construction. Even with the friendly assistance of Ruth and Steve (Ruth is a fine photographer who was checking out the show with her husband Steve), I was unable to fully take down before a blast of wind knocked the canopy toward myself and my van. The weights I have on each canopy leg anchored things a bit but also caused the bending of 2 legs and a broken roof rafter.

All-in-all I probably made out better than I could have. The winds got really nasty after I left and would have surely done more significant damage. I’ve ordered replacement parts today and will be ready for my next show. It’s an outdoor show in June. I’ve learned a few things this weekend but hopefully I won’t have to put them in use.

I enjoy outdoor shows so I won’t be giving them up. It just seems that for someone like myself who makes images outdoors, showing that work outdoors is a perfect fit.

I understand that people are still finding my business cards blowing around Bethlehem. If you find one, come say hi to me at my next show. Hopefully I won’t  just be blowing through.

Bent Canopy Legs Made of Steel

**************************************************************

6 thoughts on “How Was the Bethlehem Fine Art Show?

  1. Paul, I am glad it was the tent legs, not the photographer’s, that took a beating. I wish you better weather in June. Good to know you’re still going to do outdoor shows; your work sings in the fresh (well-behaved) air.

  2. Dang! That’s the downside of outdoor markets, of course. I learned never to mess with wind. My canopy once almost blew into my friend’s car. That was enough for me.

  3. I can only imagine trying to pack up all of your work and setup in such a hurry. I have been to a few artshows where there were nasty storms approaching and felt sympathetic to the artists that had to deal with it. I am glad you made out relatively OK.

  4. Thanks Mark and Lana. Outdoor shows are just the reality of this kind of work. There is an audience at these events that I want to meet, and so there are risks involved as well. You can feel rather helpless sometimes but it’s always important to try to keep things in perspective and stay cool.

  5. Your bent posts, if cropped a bit at the bottom, & un-titled could be mistaken for stalks reflecting in water.

Leave a Reply

