It’s spring alright, all 87 degrees of it! Hot or not, spring wants to put me outdoors into the woods, by the lake, in the garden, and anywhere else near new green growth, migrating birds, and colorful flowers. A couple early mornings with lots of sun, cool breezes and misty lake waters really got me going. I saw my first Palm Warbler (ever), an adult Bald Eagle, Cooper’s Hawk, and first wildflower growth of the season. It was great to start working in the field with warm temps. Only weeks ago there was several inches of snow on the ground! Now we’re reaching near 90 degrees!

During my last outing, hauling a heavy Canon 500mm f4.0 L IS on a sturdy tripod with a Wimberley Sidekick on my tripod head and a Canon EOS 1D Mark III camera, I came across this deer framed by the new spring green foliage of the undergrowth. The side-lighting really made the young leaves glow and the somewhat comical expression on the deer’s face adds character to the image. I positioned myself to compose the image maximizing symmetry and making sure the eyes were unobstructed.

**************************************************************

5 thoughts on “It’s Spring, Deer!

  1. The deer is saying, “It must be spring, the humans are out photographing again.” Beautiful image. I also particularly like your fond description of all the signs of the new season.

  2. Hey David, thanks for the comment. I’m glad you like the image and the wording. I think you must be right about the thoughts deer have on seeing us all back in the woods this time of year.

Leave a Reply

