When I came across this list of personality traits of creative people I thought it was crazy. The more I read it the more I began to think I was crazy, or am I? The list was put together by Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi in the book Flow and the Psychology of Discovery and Invention. Too much of this list strikes home for me, or does it?

  • Characteristics of the creative personality:
    1. Creative individuals have a great deal of energy, but they are also often quiet and at rest.
    2. Creative individuals tend to be smart, yet also naive at the same time.
    3. Creative individuals have a combination of playfulness and discipline, or responsibility and irresponsibility.
    4. Creative individuals alternate between imagination and fantasy at one end, and rooted sense of reality at the other.
    5. Creative people seem to harbor opposite tendencies on the continuum between extroversion and introversion.
    6. Creative individuals are also remarkable humble and proud at the same time.
    7. Creative individuals to a certain extent escape rigid gender role stereotyping and have a tendency toward androgyny.
    8. Generally, creative people are thought to be rebellious and independent.
    9. Most creative persons are very passionate about their work, yet they can be extremely objective about it as well.
    10. The openness and sensitivity of creative individuals often exposes them to suffering pain yet also a great deal of enjoyment.
  • ****************************************************************

    8 thoughts on “Are You Creative Personality?

    1. Wow. Could he have hedged his bets any more? I’m feeling a little ambivalent about the whole thing. I kept thinking, yeah, that’s me, but then again it was so wishy-washy that it could have applied to EVERYBODY! Or maybe it couldn’t. Then again . . .

    2. Pingback: Free Online Degree
    3. Judged against that yardstick, I’m not a creative personality.
      I would definitely argue against creative types “being extremely objective” about their work. Too many creative people I know question their own talents/worth & judging their work to be “not good enough” (even though it is.)
      Interesting, regardless!

    4. Beautiful image Paul.

      I suppose I fall in there somewhere, but wouldn’t say every part of every point applies to me. Donna makes some good points. 🙂

    Leave a Reply

    