This was a neat project. The Reading-Berks Guild of Craftsmen, a chapter of the Pennsylvania Guild of Craftsmen, was chosen to decorate one of the Pennsylvania Governor’s trees in the mansion. As a member of the RB Chapter, I contributed two pieces. This is the first time I’ve ever made an ornament with my work and had to really think through my approach. It seems simple enough, but I wanted something sturdy and that would last.

After making the print, I applied several coatings of protective spray to prevent damage from touch or light. Then I mounted the print on acidfree board and overmatted it with same. To add the hanging string, I applied a pressure sensitive, acidfree  adhesive to the back of the mountboard and added a third mat to make a sandwich with the string between the boards.

It was cool to see the finished ornament hanging on the tree in video coverage  of the event. My ornament of the image Winter Reds appears just around the end of the video.

***************************************************************

One thought on “Governor’s Tree Ornament

  1. Good job! That’s good exposure for you…..and one of my favorite images of yours. (But I think I say that every time you post one of your winter cardinal images!)

Leave a Reply

