Sure the leaves are all off the trees and the landscape looks more winter-like than fall-like, but I’m not willing to let go of my grip on autumn quite yet. This fall went extremely fast. The color was never really vibrant anywhere I looked around me here in Bucks County and the heavy rains and winds of October did a real job on any color that did occur.

When I wasn’t doing a show, it was raining, or I was preparing for the next show. Finally I had enough and just had to get out. Sure enough it was raining. But, with my Olympus E-3 and Olympus 50-200mm SWM lens (and some gortex clothing), I was able to spend several hours photographing at a nearby lake. Frankly, I didn’t find the scenery very inspiring, initially. But it was fun working in the rain (sometimes heavy rain), and I began to see the beauty of what was there. Colors weren’t the vibrant reds and oranges I visualized, but the rain made the umber leaves that remained standout well. The cloudy skies offered me smooth, consistent lighting, and if I could keep the blowing rain off the front lens element, I was actually getting quite stoked. By the end I found myself creating some of my favorite fall images ever.

Fall Woods on a Rainy Day

**************************************************************

4 thoughts on “It’s Still Fall …..

Leave a Reply

