I’m finally getting back into the swing of things after a nasty germ kept me down for over a week. Uunfortunately, in that time, I missed two shows and a television appearance. My overall record for missing shows due to illness is still very good, but I hate losing an event (let alone two).

Being sick even for a short time reminded me how important good health is and how often I forget how great it feels to be well and able to do everyday things. It also reminded me how great simple foods taste after not eating much for days. It’s interesting how accentuated the senses become to ordinary pleasures after they are denied for even a short time.

After a few days of just feeling really lousy, I began to watch TV again and rediscoverd the History Channel, the National Geographic Channel and PBS. I’m a much more educated guy than I was a couple weeks ago on subjects ranging from great battles to the latest dinosaur finds and how sex affected politics throughout the 20th century.

I’ve got a lot of catching up to do with email and other correspondance. I’ve got a trip planned and some other activities arranged this month. And, based on how the grass is greening up, it may be getting real close to the seasons first mowing. Yea!

*************************************************************

6 thoughts on “Back to Work

  1. I’m sorry you were ill–here I just thought you’ve been swamped with your typically full schedule! Glad to see you back!
    Would these TV appearances be something I might see on TV someday down here in the Louisiana swamps?

  2. Thanks Lana, I would have been swamped. It was bad timing. Anyway, it’s good to get going again. The TV spot was a local thing, but they are working to make broadcasts available on the internet. So, maybe next time.

  3. Glad to see you getting back into the swing of things. Missed a TV appearance?? Guest star on National Geo?

    Whatever the heck that bug is that has been going around – must have defeated my flu shot and vitamin C/Zinc regimen – because it hit me about a month or so ago – took a couple of weeks to get it completely clear.

  4. Thanks Mark. It was a nasty bug! Still not feeling 100% Makes me mad.

    And the TV appearance would have been huge, I’ve done it twice before. I am certain viewership is well into double digits.

Leave a Reply

