I think of new years as new beginnings. They are of course not truly new, time is a continuum not a cycle. But mentally, it helps me to box up 2008 and think about 2009 as another fresh start. I had a fine 2008 in many ways, it was a good year.

I will start 2009 with a clean office and straightened studio. Organizing and cleaning make me feel like I’m in control of something. There is a lot I want to do this year. New shows, new projects, no products, new approaches …………..a lot! I am trying to approach 2009 with reasoned expectations and preparing for some challenges. Under such conditions, I feel the need to take some risks, try some new things. I also start this year with new responsibilities as President of the Lehigh Valley Chapter of the Pennsylvania Guild of Craftsmen. I had some pleasant surprises in 2008, so I’m optimistically looking to 2009.

*************************************************************

3 thoughts on “New Beginnings

  1. happy new year paul. i was looking at the upcoming guild workshops and saw your comments about blogging. one click and i was at your site and spent more time than i had expected perusing its contents. i’m sold. i plan on registering for the seminar tomorrow.
    i have always enjoyed your work. now i have a greater appreciation of it and the creator behind the lens. your words are inspirational.
    thanks for sharing them with the outside world. hsppy shooting, dona

  2. My best wishes for you for 2009, of course. After seeing the exceedingly red bottom line for my own art business through 2008, I’m in a bit of a slump, myself. I know it’ll pass.
    BTW, could you recommend a source for wholesale mats for photos? I may turn more of my attention toward photography in ’09.

Leave a Reply

