In a couple weeks I will be full swing into my fall schedule. Shows, holidays, field trips, so much happens this time of year. It is busy. Working as a visual artist is complex, it’s more than a job, it’s the definition of who I am. After my roles as husband and dad, being an artist is what I work at hardest. Exhibiting and selling my work at fine craft and art shows is how I primarily associate with people who connect with my imagery. But being an artist in a broader sense also means connecting with other artists and participating in the organizations that promote the arts.

I enjoy my role as Vice President of the Lehigh Valley Chapter of the Pennsylvania Guild of Craftsmen, my membership with the Reading-Berks chapter, and participation in shows both at the chapter level and state level of the guild. I enjoy the occasional calls to assist with contest judging, craft jurying, and when organizations have selected my work for their special projects. It’s all part of the bigger picture of what I do. The deeper I get and the broader I expand, the more I like it.

Having just come off of a challenging show in Chadds Ford, PA, I’m now preparing for the fall line-up. Chadds Ford was hard because of the time compression caused by Tropical Storm Hanna, but it was also a fun event. Most of the patrons I meet were new to me, which is nice. One gentlemen came into my canopy and was drawn to an image titled Blue Bird. He was considering it as a Christmas gift for his wife, but he wasn’t totally sure. Ultimately he left, came back, and purchased the matted print. A little while later I was in the process of selling another matted print to a woman when the first gentlemen came back. He asked the woman what she was buying.  The woman turned out to be his wife and she was also buying the Blue Bird  image! So I guess this man’s choice for his wife was safe. The couple decided to return the print the husband bought and buy the framed piece. I wish I knew so well what to buy my wife!

Blue Bird - (c) Paul Grecian
Blue Bird - (c) Paul Grecian
***************************************************************
7 thoughts on “Falling Forward

  1. Wonderful story about the man & his wife, & what a great shot that is! 🙂
    I wish I had more time to devote to my own art career, but as of yet, that mortgage still has to be paid. *L* Most recently I’m trying to start an art group in our little town. Every town around us has a group (many of us from here in Abita, a completely artsy-fartsy place,) yet we don’t have one. I’ve gotten quite a few positive responses, so I hope this really does go somewhere.

  2. Great story Paul. After visiting a few art shows again this summer, I am reminded of the tremendous amount of work that goes into those things – and the respect I have for those of you who continue at it. Hope you continue having such great encounters for many years to come!

  3. My only fear is that (as with every group I’ve started down here,) EVERYTHING is always going to be left to me & no one’s going to show up for anything. I HOPE these people live up to their words & put forth an effort to help the cause…I really do…

Leave a Reply

