In a recent visit to a friend’s farm I had several goals for making new images. One of those goals was to work the texture and form of the horse’s mane and markings. The horses at the farm were beautiful but rarely stayed still.  This made fine-tuning the composition challenging, especially since I wanted to be very parallel to the subject in order to keep everything in focus. It helped to know exactly what kind of image I wanted to make so that I could work quickly and precisely. If I could keep from having one of the other horses knocking me as I worked, I seemed to be alright. I will need to got back though as is often the case, each outing gives me new ideas for the next outing.

**********************************************************************************************

8 thoughts on “Horse Hair

  1. Ahhhhhhhhhhhh! At first I couldn’t figure out what it was. I can understand the problems regarding moving subjects. This came out very nicely, though!

  2. Paul,
    wonderful photo. I know exactly what you mean – horses never stand still so I know how difficult it is to get a perfect shot such as this.
    I also fully understand when you start with new ideas – same happens to me – one new idea leads to several more – never ending story. I only wonder sometimes why I haven’t seen certain things before.

    Looking forward to what else you find on the farm…

    Greetings, Petra

  3. Lana – thanks for the comment. I like that you didn’t “see” it right away.

    Petra – glad you stopped by! I hope I always generate new ideas from current work. Thanks for the kind words.

    Dan – I am trying different subjects lately to see what strikes me. I would like to develop this into a small body of work. I need to get past the hay (or something that caused an allergic reaction) and definitely wear old shoes.

  4. Hey thanks Mark. I am looking forward to spending more time on this. Part of the challenge will be allowing the horses to get used to me. Right now they are too interested in who/what I am and not as likely to just relax.

Leave a Reply

