I bought a new pair of shoes today – a pair of Rockports that I will use for outdoor shows. Since I stand for the entire show, I can be on my feet for 12 hours. This makes the comfort factor of any shoes I wear really important. If my feet aren’t happy, my sales could suffer as I become irritable. Actually, just looking uncomfortable can be a turn off to any prospective customer. So I don’t mind putting some money where my feet are. If I find these shoes really work well, I’ll buy another pair. Heck, I have a back up camera, why not shoes?

I use a different shoe outdoors than I do indoors. The outdoor shoes need to be comfortable, but also waterproof. The challenge is in finding a pair that don’t look too hiking boot like. I try to maintain some level of professional dress even in outdoor shows. Sometimes, it’s just impossible. But, if it’s a wet show, or the grass is damp with dew, I need at least a weatherproof shoe.

I have scheduled four outdoor shows in a row starting next month and well, at least the shoe issue is covered. Now, I could really use some new show shirts (with my logo).

I’ve been actively working a fox den about an hour from home. I’ve become rather attached to the little guys and anticipate more visits. I’ll work up some images soon for posting.

*******************************************************************************************

One thought on “New Shoes

  1. Very cool on the fox den! We had a gray fox around our house when we first moved here, but he’s since moved on. I regret the encroachment of man on animal habitats, PARTICULARLY when I’m the guilty party.
    Shoes are tremendously important. When I lived in Canada, in Winter I would ensure, very early on, that I had GOOD, WARM, WATERPROOF boots. I’d suffer horribly for months if I didn’t. Didn’t matter how much they cost, just so long as they were warm & waterproof!

Leave a Reply

