The Pennsylvania Guild of Craftsmen’s Holiday Show at Franklin and Marshall in Lancaster, PA this past weekend was a fun show. I got to talk with friends I don’t see often enough and as the crowd was never overwhelming, had time to talk with patrons as well. My neighbor at the show was a basket maker who has taken the craft to an art form. Turning 90 years old at Christmas this year, he is still working at his craft. Quite an inspiration. Having just turned 44 myself, I can’t even imagine doing shows for another 46 years!

I made the mistake of taste-testing a Sand Castle Winery Alpine Spice – bought 2 bottles. It’s great served warm! Let a friend of mine try it, she bought 2 bottles. It will be nice for the holidays.

During the Holiday Show, the Guild creates a gallery area on the show floor for display of Juried Crafter’s work with a chosen theme. This year’s theme was Movement. As a juried member at the state level, I was invited to participate in the gallery and did so. Monetary Awards are given in several categories with various sponsorship.  I was very pleased Flight Unfurled - (c) Paul Grecianto receive the Best Use of Theme award for my image Flight Unfurled. Being selected among the great juried work in a variety of mediums was gratifying. Equally nice was being congratulated by crafters whose work I admire.

I am finishing orders taken during the last few shows and by phone/email. Then, the studio needs a good cleaning.

****************************************************************

Leave a Reply

