Sometimes getting away doesn’t have to be for long or too far away. My wife, daughter and I spent the weekend at a friends house in the Poconos here in PA. We had the place to ourselves for a couple days to just relax and rejuvenate. This was our second year doing so in the Month of August. Mostly we read, relax on the deck which backs up to a state forest, and watch some movies. It also gives me a chance to do some relaxed photography right out the door on the house grounds.

Mostly what is there are ferns, dried up leaves from previous year’s leaf fall, and some big rocks. This year we also had a bit of rain. Visually, I find this a rather sparse scene and yet very magical if I can find a streak of creativity within myself.

The rain added the visual element that really spurred me on to work differently, see differently, and use some previous experiences to make some imagery that’s go me pretty excited. The ingredients were simple enough. Start with a big rock, add rain water, a leaf, overcast light and some personal vision. Angles that I worked were steep and contorted, so I worked without a tripod. I could see the way the light was playing through the viewfinder which confirmed for me the results I was after.

I don’t know what will come of the work, but I am digging it for now.

The Stem

******************************************************************

Leave a Reply

