The Struggle……….

One of the things I find so compelling about Acadia National Park is the variety of habitats and diversity of life that somehow survive in what seems like pretty tough conditions. As a biologist, I understand how these niches can support life, but as an artist I see the same subjects as metaphors  for struggle and the fight to survive.

In this image, the tree is literally between a rock and a hard place and yet seemingly thrives in this harsh micro-habitat. The contrasts in this image relate not just to animate and inanimate, but also hard and soft, light and dark, textured and smooth, round and amorphous. It’s these contrasts or dynamic elements of a subject that add an emotional chord to an image.

This image was made on one of my favorite short hikes in Acadia around a tarn. I made the image handheld which is something I’ve only more recently begun to do. I was working with an Olympus OMD-EM5 and a Panasonic 14-140mm F4-5.8 lens closed down slightly. This is a very portable combination of camera and lens which allows me to work more fluidly and spontaneously especially when the conditions require me to have a hand free to maneuver through boulders

(c) 2013 Paul Grecian

(c) 2013 Paul Grecian

*********************************************************.

4 Responses to “The Struggle……….”


  1. 1 marty golin August 30, 2013 at 12:59 pm

    “Emotional chord….” Good phrase to describe the sometimes subtle elements that make up an image. (ps. Why the tag “alone?” You or the tree?)

  2. 3 Mark August 30, 2013 at 6:08 pm

    We have some very old cedars like this that grow in the Northern areas of the Great Lakes. I find myself thinking the same thing about them. What a magnificent thing to see a tree growing in rock, with barely any dirt at all. This image certainly speaks harmony.


Leave a Reply

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Copyright Notice

All images are copyright of Paul Grecian. No image may be linked to or downloaded without expressed written consent and rights authorization. Images are available for purchase for publication and in print form. Please contact me through www.paulgrecianphoto.com for more information.

About Leaving Comments

Comments are always welcome. I always want to hear ideas and feedback. To add a comment, just find the little cloud just below the specific blog entry title and click the word "Comments". Your comment will not be edited for content but inappropriate language or spam will result in a comment being deleted. Thank you for taking part.

Drop Down

Blog Stats

  • 72,972 hits

Visitors

Twitterings

  • Sure, I've just spent four days at a show, but I have Christmas orders to fill (including one going to Seattle).... fb.me/1Aud5eofP 1 week ago
  • Today was my last meeting serving on the Executive Board of the Pennsylvania Guild of Craftsmen. It has been a... fb.me/1qELxl1RJ 2 weeks ago
  • Received my paper, mats and frame orders all on the same day, prior to Thanksgiving, the snow, and the beginning... fb.me/3UJVPDzyg 3 weeks ago
  • A customer sent me a very gratifying email today. A gift that she purchased for a wedding couple (an image of... fb.me/2IwNRa0pl 1 month ago
  • Falls in the fall makes a nice combination. This image will be available for the first time this weekend in... fb.me/6SPCmXHBn 1 month ago

Pages

Twitter Updates

  • Sure, I've just spent four days at a show, but I have Christmas orders to fill (including one going to Seattle).... fb.me/1Aud5eofP 1 week ago
  • Today was my last meeting serving on the Executive Board of the Pennsylvania Guild of Craftsmen. It has been a... fb.me/1qELxl1RJ 2 weeks ago
  • Received my paper, mats and frame orders all on the same day, prior to Thanksgiving, the snow, and the beginning... fb.me/3UJVPDzyg 3 weeks ago
  • A customer sent me a very gratifying email today. A gift that she purchased for a wedding couple (an image of... fb.me/2IwNRa0pl 1 month ago
  • Falls in the fall makes a nice combination. This image will be available for the first time this weekend in... fb.me/6SPCmXHBn 1 month ago

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 87 other followers

