Milky Way in Acadia

One of my goals during my most resent trip to Acadia National Park was to do a little night sky imagery. There were a few nights that were very clear and need I say it, very dark! Dark though not in a Voldemort kind of way, but a good way. ┬áStill, I needed a flashlight to see the camera controls and where I was walking. Composing and focusing an image is a challenge as well, I sometimes make an image just to test what I’ve done.

For me, night skies need to be part of the landscape, not the totally of the image. This image was made around Otter Point, an important and well-known landmark within the National Park. The Milky Way was very evident as were stars. An occasional meteor shot by but not in this image. The sky reflects a bit in the water and I use the surrounding landscape to add a silhouette form.

Long exposures and long write-times to the Compact Flash card make this kind of work slow, but then that just allows me to enjoy the universe a bit more (my neck still hurts a bit). I used a Nikon D800 camera with a Nikon 16-35mm f4.0 lens wide open at 16mm.

(c) 2013 Paul Grecian - All Rights Reserved

(c) 2013 Paul Grecian – All Rights Reserved

 

******************************************************************
4 Responses to “Milky Way in Acadia”


  1. 1 scorchedeyebrowstudio August 14, 2013 at 8:42 pm

    Paul, your work, and your generosity as respects the method and tools you use to achieve these masterworks, never ceases to amaze me. Thank you.

  2. 2 marty golin August 15, 2013 at 12:55 pm

    The best I’ve ever seen the Milky Way was also in Acadia (well, a campground nearby .) Almost worth the trip there just to see such full darkness.

    Just for curiosity, about what shutter speed/ISO? I don’t see any star trails,& there’s certainly plenty of exposure in this shot. (Or do you use the “fancy” equipment to keep the camera aligned?)

  3. 4 Matt August 25, 2013 at 10:53 pm

    Very nice photos. I did similar work in Yosemite a few years ago, and after a little while in the dark I realized that I wouldn’t be able to see a bear until it was right on me. So I cut the shoot a bit short. Not sure if the same threat exists in Acadia – I think the big creatures there are the moose.

    A 30 second exposure did seem to be the sweet spot before star trails started to appear.


Leave a Reply

August 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Copyright Notice

All images are copyright of Paul Grecian. No image may be linked to or downloaded without expressed written consent and rights authorization. Images are available for purchase for publication and in print form. Please contact me through www.paulgrecianphoto.com for more information.

About Leaving Comments

Comments are always welcome. I always want to hear ideas and feedback. To add a comment, just find the little cloud just below the specific blog entry title and click the word "Comments". Your comment will not be edited for content but inappropriate language or spam will result in a comment being deleted. Thank you for taking part.

Drop Down

Blog Stats

  • 72,242 hits

Visitors

Twitterings

Pages

Twitter Updates


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 86 other followers

